LITERARY ANALYSIS: Why I Need Google Glass

I was concerned about writing this poem because I didn’t want readers to think I was targeting Google as an evil corporation or an example of science fiction gone wrong.  Rather, my intention was to allow readers to think about the practicality of certain technologies as opposed to others.  For example, I write “They’re only like 15 hundred dollars/cut-rate and constant, cheaper than college,” pointing out that an essentially trial piece of technology can be compared in price to college tuition (13-14).  Also, I should note that I attempted to write these technological poem in traditional pentameter form to make a connection between the past and present.

I focused on the idea of progression by linking the first and last stanzas, hopefully insinuating that I do believe in technology, but also the maintenance of human thought and ingenuity.  This why I chose to write about the driverless car that is also happens to be in development Google.  There are upsides to this new product, like the elimination of drivers falling asleep at the road, but I am bothered by the elimination of another human ability.  With completely automatic cars, will anyone be able to drive a car regardless of their age or competency?  Furthermore, I feel coveted career opportunities are in danger of becoming meaningless with some uses of technology.  While great vocalists can be discovered through youtube videos, I fear for the integrity of the music industry.  In my research, I watched a video interview with Fred Armisen of Saturday Night Live.  He was asked to try Google Glass after performing a skit on the show in which he parodied the product.  The third stanza of Why I Need Google Glass resembles some of what his character reported on the show.  Later, when Armisen tried the actual Google Glass, he suggested that musicians wouldn’t have to worry about lyrics and actors could perform without scripts.  I thought this positivity was interesting coming from an actor, because he is in the industry.  It would seem that to a live actor, he would value the integrity of memorizing a script, which is why I included: “Musicians will empty their lyric banks/Actors will read scripts on screen, in theatre” (28-29).

Stanza 9 nods again to the relationship between past and present, where work is becoming increasingly virtual.  I personally try to use pen and paper when I write because I tend to stumble across some really valuable ideas when I take the time to actually write the words down. When I transfer my work to the keyboard, then I start to play around with different phrases and images, placing great stock in the thesaurus.  I hope readers interpret the stanzas as an appreciation our potential to progress with technology balanced with a healthy resistance.  Because of the struggle between past and present The piece is written from the perspective of an enthusiastic and technologically driven woman, but tends to reflect my somewhat sarcastic views to technological developments.

Leave a Reply

